Talkin' about music!

im gonna try and keep consistent blog-type posts on here about music i like:)

04/08/2023

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

Ive recently been listening to a lot of nick cave and the bad seeds lately and i just wanted share some thoughts on one of my favorite Nick cave and the bad seeds songs. Nobodys baby now has been the latest one to stick with

Musically its not complex but that just adds to the charm.Nick cave really just lets the lyrics seep right into you. They just hit you so hard. He sounds so heartbroken as he sings about a lost love.

The first verse talking about nick going out reading the bible, reading poets, and analysts just to find an answer as to why she left. “I traveled this world far and round for an answer that refused to be found”

to me is nick accepting that shes nobodys baby now. Then in the next verse he’s reminiscing. “ i loved her then i guess i love her still”

He knows thats shes always part of him and he cant get rid of her and starts listing his favorite details of hers. “Her wild feral stare her dark hair her winter lips as cold as stone” this is followed by nick acknowledging that it was fault shes gone

“I held her hand but i dont hold it now” is my favorite lyric from the song and has stuck with me long after i first listened to the song. In the last first nick speaks of wanting to contact her again but giving up for some unknown reason.

“These are my many letters torn to pieces by long fingered hands” he tries to get over her but shes not his baby now shes nobodys baby now. I think this would be the perfect nick cave song to introduce someone to.

Songs i would recommend: rings of saturn, into my arms, breathless and more news from nowhere

04/07/2023

Darren Hanlon

Ive been a fan of darren for a pretty long time and i think he’s very under rated so, im gonna do my best to tell you why he’s one of my biggest inspirations as an artist.

The first darren hanlon song was also one of his most popular “i wish that i was beautiful for you.” a perfect love song about how you wish the person that you love and feel all these feelings towards could feel that way towards you.

Though its one of his most popular song its also one of his best for good reason. The wordplay is so perfect and the imagery is crazy. “But to be worthy of a single page out of one of those magazines you read”

and “you kissed me by surprise when i opened my eyes you turned into some old guy” its made me cry on multiple occasions. It also has this stunning breakdown in the last bit of the song thats just dreamlike

Id also like to highlight a few other of my favorites. “My love is an ocean away” from his 2015 release where did you come from. A song about a love whos an ocean away. In this song hes convincing himself its not that far and its just an ocean away.

I also really enjoy “letter from an australian mining town” a nearly 8 minute song that is sung like it was a letter someone found of a person who went to go mine up north in australia.

You should also check out, “falling aeroplanes” a song about writers block, “magazine theory” a song about not listening to zodiac signs saying youre not compatible to someone, and one of my all time favorites “funpark fugitives”

a song about sneaking into a theme park and spending that day with someone you love” there’s too many perfect songs for me to put all in one post but every album is a no skip album. Please check him out!

04/6/2023

ive recently been listening Postes EP by Neotokyo police and i wanted so share some thoughts

I enjoyed this EP and i find myself coming back to listen to it regularly i would def recommend to anyone:)